11 replies to this topic

#1 Melissa

Melissa

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 31 August 2014 - 03:10 PM

So besides the obvious--paint, markers, pens, stamps, ink, etc.,.--what else do you use in your art journals? Do you use ephemera, images from magazines, pages from old books? What else?

I am fairly new to art journaling and exploring all my options.

#2 Scrapgurl

Scrapgurl

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationNorthern British Columbia, Canada

Posted 31 August 2014 - 09:15 PM

I use gesso for my thinner journals and when I want a different look for sprays.  I use Decoupage to glue things down, Mod Podge is too "wet".  I use old scrapbooking scraps and embellies that I just can't bear to part with.  I love using old sewing patterns for texture in my books.  Sometimes I use junk mail, magazine pictures, left over pictures from scrapping....  I hope this helps! :)

#3 Melissa

Melissa

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 01 September 2014 - 04:05 PM

It does! Thank you. I was just thinking the other day of using patterned paper scraps. I'll keep my eye open for cools stuff in the junk mail. Goodness knows, I get plenty of it.  :D

#4 StampingRooster

StampingRooster

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • LocationNYC

Posted 01 September 2014 - 04:54 PM

Stencils and stamps.

Gretchen

Now blogging and posting process videos

#5 Dragonfly

Dragonfly

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 22 September 2014 - 03:26 PM