27 replies to this topic

#1 Maribeth

Maribeth

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:24 AM

Hello, I hope someone here can help me.  I am new to stamping.  I am primarily using word/sentiment stamps for my cardmaking.  I can not seem to get a good solid black impression.  I am using Memento Black Tuxedo Ink, stamping on to basic white cardstock (most often the 8 1/2 x 11 Georgia Pacific brand).  I have re-inked my pad as I do think it was pretty dry.  I tap my pad to my clearstamp that is adhered to the Fisksars stamp press.  I am using a mouse pad for my "gooshy" surface to stamp on, but I actually get a better impression stamping right onto my self healing mat, but neither produce a solid "full bodied" stamped image.  They are okay but they just don't seem to POP as I would like them to.  

Any suggestions?

pa_v2_6101253526CF.gif

PeaNut 408,786
January 2009
Layouts: 101

#2 Scrappy Angel

Scrappy Angel

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 60 posts
  • LocationBrampton, Ontario, Canada

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:31 AM

Is it a new stamp that you are using? Sometimes the stamps need to be seasoned by lightly rubbing with an eraser. However, there is something I do before stamping an image and it may sound a little strange. I was given this tip by a fellow stamper. Once your stamp is mounted to your block, rub the stamp on the top of your hand or the inside of your wrist/arm. The oils from your skin get transferred to your stamp and give the ink a great base to adhere to. It actually works really well. HTH.
  • libbyg likes this

#3 Maribeth

Maribeth

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:38 AM

Yes, all the stamps that I have been using are new.  I will try this and see if that does the trick.

Thank you so much.

pa_v2_6101253526CF.gif

PeaNut 408,786
January 2009

#4 MandyMae

MandyMae

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 238 posts