#1 Ina

Ina

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Locationsouthern California

Posted 29 June 2014 - 12:12 AM

I'm brand new to stamping (and paper scrapping in general). I only have 2 inks so far, a black and a gold. What colors do you recommend for a basic starter set? I'm thinking I might like a white ink pad, any good opaque ones out there? Also, why are some ink pads smaller and shaped like a teardrop, any advantage to those?

#2 Karin

Karin

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • LocationSweden

Posted 29 June 2014 - 12:40 AM

Choosing inks isn't easy, it's not just to get the right color, you need to use the right type of inkpad for what you want to do with it. I don't know if Noell has any videos on it but I know Jennifer McGuire have videos where she describes the properities of different inkpads. I will try to find some for you.

The teardrop shaped (or cat eyed) are easy if you want to use the ink pad to ink the edges of your papers and to use for some direct to paper techniques.

• vintageplaid, Solange-Isbaha, Carol and 1 other like this

/Karin - ScrappaNu

#3 Karin

Karin

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • LocationSweden

Posted 29 June 2014 - 12:49 AM

Here is one at least, I think she have more of them - Video + Ink Comparison.

I did a description a long time ago on different types of ink but that is in Swedish, perhaps Google Translate will let you get something out of it.

The rows in my comparison picture are (click on the image to bring it up full size):

stamped; embossed; painted over with water after drying for several hours; painted over with Promarker blender after drying for several hours; painted over with water after heat set; painted over with Promarker blender after heat set.

Translated with Google translate!!!